When The Brother announced that he was moving to Peru for six weeks to perfect his Spanish-speaking skills, my first thought was –because I am very self-involved and I knew The Brother would be safe and I have strongly encouraged him to do something like this —Vacation! Who can I drag along to visit with me? Vegas, Venezuela, NONE of my trips have worked out this year and without those little escapes, I sink into a depressed winter rut.

BUT NO MORE. The Firefighter has agreed to be my traveling companion. We’ve never traveled together, but I think it will work out really well … as long as he remembers that, as much as I like to try new activities, I do have my limit. His latest idea involves six days of jungle adventure, where he would learn to set-up perimeters to protect us from the wet, dark, bug-ridden, indoor-plumbing-less rainforest under constant threat of wild animal attack.

Six days. Of jungling.

During his jungle-plea, he said, “But Molly E, think of all the totally sweet spiders.”

Spiders. This was his convincing argument. Not brightly colored flowers or magical waterfalls or the beautiful, calming animals –none of which bite or slither.

He tells me spiders. Totally sweet ones. Sign me up!

Neither of us was looking for a beach vacation, so, as I am trying to remain open to ideas, I said my max was three days of jungling but he was in charge of all jungle-related research. And that I would not die. He said that was fair. We’re not even sure which country we’re going to visit –we might skip Peru altogether –so if anyone has been to South/Central America, I would appreciate any and all suggestions. Especially those unrelated to spiders.

