I have been house hunting for a few months. Although renting would be so much simpler, I have chosen the difficult route because that’s what I do. Unneeded headaches are my specialty. Well, those, and chocolate-chip cookies (I have a great recipe from the back of the choc-chip package).

My housing parameters were relatively few: two bedrooms (The Sister is going to rent from me), charming (my living space must make me visually happy), location — a $10 cab ride from downtown (I hate when driving is a deterrent from having a social life), and a decent amount of square footage (enough space so The Sister and I can spread out and not kill each other from sharing too much air).

I finally found a place with three out of my four criteria. Unfortunately, the factor I had to sacrifice was the one most important to me. But one in which the other factors are dependent.

I am going to move to the ‘burbs.

Far away from civilization.

It kind of kills part of my soul even to admit that. I feel slightly sell-outish and for no real reason. The ‘burbs are fine, I grew up in the ‘burbs, I like the ‘burbs … until I compare them with the city. I love the city more. If I was a parent, the city would be my favorite child, the one most like me. The addicting energy, the loud noise, the busyness, the character. I love everything about the city.

Except the real estate.

The suburban place is BEAUTIFUL and SPACIOUS and NEW! In a safe neighborhood! With excellent property values! As far as the house as a whole goes, I am quite in love with the place. I just wish I could pick it up and move it to the city.

Final decision will be made in the next 48 hours. Think good thoughts for me please.

