I have a really good reason as to why I’ve been sucking with the posting as of late. Ready for it? Because of inertia.

I’m going to play the inertia card. Really? Yes. Inertia! Brilliant!

Let me explain. If I remember my high school physics correctly –actually, we also discussed the concept in 8th grade Earth Science (solar system, etc) – Inertia is, “The resistance or disinclination of a body to act or change, maintaining its state of rest or uniform motion – the tendency of a body at rest to remain at rest or of a body in straight line motion to stay in motion in a straight line – unless acted upon by an external force.”

While my body was in an active state, I was productive; I kept moving. Work, sleep, do it all again. Go, Go, GO. While doing the two job thing, I typically napped on my one night off. I would go home, go straight to my bed, and sleep for three hours. I’ve fallen back into that pattern … except every night is my night off. And I am not tired. Just lazy. I do it anyway. My body, in a constant state of rest, is more apt to stay at rest.

Inertia.

I know, right? My excuses now have a scientific explanation. I am just that cool.

But ok, really not cool (ha, in case anyone out there actually believed me for that half second). This weekend was spent doing loserish things. I didn’t see my friends, I didn’t go to the bar. I showered only once and that was because I didn’t want 6-miles worth of sweat to taint my freshly washed sheets. [FRESHLY WASHED. Just like my bathroom floor which smells beautifully of bleach.] I barely left the house all weekend, instead choosing safe, boring activities such as midnight baking with a glass of wine (… those six dozen cookies will be promptly pawned off to unsuspecting friends later this week).

Although I enjoyed the quiet, I also began to fear that my body in rest will stay in rest. Forever. (Yes, dramatic. Have we met?) So I am going to be the external force against my resting inertia. I’ve gone running the past three days and remembered how much I enjoy that adrenaline surge; I even completed my abs/arms workout that I learned when dating sleeping with that cute boxer. I applied for another serving job. I researched Greece. My bed has become less inviting. My energy is returning and with that, my brain should also regain a little spunk and creativity. My blogging inertia will soon remain in a state of motion.

