One of my good friends is getting married; I really, really wanted to go to the wedding. Even though it involves some traveling. Yesterday, with a cousin eager and willing to be my date, I booked my ticket:

• Minneapolis/St. Paul, MN (MSP) to New York/Newark, NJ (EWR – Liberty) on Sat., May. 10, 2008
• New York/Newark, NJ (EWR – Liberty) to Athens GR (ATH) on Sat., May. 10, 2008

• Athens GR (ATH) to New York/Newark, NJ (EWR – Liberty) on Tue., May. 27, 2008
• New York/Newark, NJ (EWR – Liberty) to Minneapolis/St. Paul, MN (MSP) on Tue., May. 27, 2008

White buildings, blue waters, tasty olives, smarmy (yet cute!) olive-skinned boys … AND! the vacation includes island hopping. How cool does that sound? HOPPING to ISLANDS. And ok, some of the ferries take an obscene amount of time –fourteen hours on some occasions—so it’s not hopping so much as waiting on boats and traveling a lot… but I am going to sell it as hopping.

Fuck. I had no chance.

When I called my parents to tell them that I bought the airfare, my dad used that same laughing exasperation that he so often uses with me.

“Oh you did, huh? So I guess this means you’re not buying a house.”

“No, Dad, it means I also applied to three serving jobs today.”

“You just don’t want to learn to budget or alter your lifestyle, do ya, Mol? Free time isn’t a bad thing.”

“Not when trips to Greece are a probability.”

The game plan is to work at a second job for ONLY A LITTLE BIT. I will quit. I am hoping it is a place that I can make some good money but HATE it, so I will want to quit. Or maybe I will meet a beautiful Greek shipping heir and just never come back. Either way, the two-job thing is temporary. ONLY TEMPORARY. God, I hope it’s temporary.

But Greece! So excited. Has anyone ever been? Any tips/recommendations?

