The Right: I was holding my beer and purse with my left hand when introductions were made and, to avoid any juggling maneuvers, he reached across the table with his left hand and squeezed my fingers. When my friend called my attention, he didn’t let go but also didn’t creepily stare while I was distracted. He turned to speak to his friend, too. The hand-holding continued –just the fingers –casually and prolonged, until I smiled and pulled away.

The Wrong: My left hand was out with a “nice to meet you” welcome (again, I was carrying stuff with the other) and his (and his wedding ring) deliberately and immediately went stuffed into his pocket. Awkward with the mismatched hands, he was clumsy and squeezed too hard. Although the a-bar hotel party was quiet, he kept asking my name, our main topic of conversation.

