A friend, who fits into somewhat of an older sister mold, recently returned from backpacking through Europe, and since she didn’t purchase any gifts for friends/family, my souvenir was a handful of currency from Budapest and Prague. Quite practical. Yet, dorkily, still somehow a novelty. Although I am tempted to remove them from the safe-keeping that is the bottom of my purse, I resist the urge when I hear Matt Dillion’s voice in my head:

“Oh cripes. Do you have change for a dollar? All I have is these stupid Nepalese coins.”

And it amuses me. Yes, I know the coins are not from Nepal and yes, I realize the movie is at least ten years old and I should probably updates my pop culture references, but whatever. I find myself amusing enough that it’s totally worth that extra ten minutes to find a quarter.

